CTSafe –  Approved Training Provider

CTSafe center is approved training provider of  OHTA to deliver their IH courses in Vietnam.
Email us: contact@upstreamsafety.com    Hotline: 0768.49.49.49

The Occupational Hygiene Training Association (OHTA) is a not-for-profit organization of volunteers.  They aim to reduce the global burden of ill health from the work environment by promoting better standards of occupational hygiene practice around the world.

OHTA develops training materials and make them freely available for use by students and training providers.  They also promote an international qualifications framework so that all hygienists are trained to a consistent, high standard, recognized in all participating countries.

OHTA principles
OHTA is supported by many national occupational hygiene organizations and the International Occupational Hygiene Association.
They operate with a few basic ground rules: They try to be

  • Inclusive
  • Straightforward
  • Transparent
  • Accessible
  • Engaging

OHTA believes that adhering to these operating principles will help to grow the global occupational hygiene community and encourage consensus standards.

Support and sponsorship
OHTA has no paid staff.  All time and effort is provided by volunteers and supporters. Operating costs are minimal but essential services are funded through sponsors who share the aims of OHTA.

OHTA partners with many other organizations to enable delivery of the international training and qualifications system.  OHTA is pleased to collaborate with Workplace Health Without Borders to help bring occupational hygiene training to developing countries.

The international qualifications framework allows everyone to achieve the appropriate level of understanding and ability in a flexible way that meets the needs of their employment, their personal circumstances and their own capabilities.

The five levels

For convenience, OHTA considers training needs at five levels, as shown in the diagram.

  • Managers, supervisors, union representatives and employees need an awareness of health hazards and risks in the workplace and how they can be controlled to provide a safe working environment
  • Specialists in areas like health and safety, occupational medicine and nursing should understand the basic principles of occupational hygiene so that they can deal with simple problems and know when to call in a specialist.  This can lead to an international qualification at the Foundation level
  • Technicians and technologists working in occupational hygiene require the technical knowledge and hands-on, practical training at Intermediate level that will enable them to take measurements, assess exposure and check the effectiveness of control measures.
  • Specialists with responsibility for designing and delivering the occupational hygiene programmes in a workplace will need to study at the academic level.  This will give them a deep understanding of the scientific basis of occupational hygiene as well as a high level of technical skills, and can lead to professional qualifications.
  • Senior occupational hygienists operating at management levels within large organisations or in consultancies need to have leadership skills in addition to mastery of the technical and professional skills.  They will need additional training in areas such as management, communication and finance.

Examination Fees and the OHTA Course Levy: Please find below information about the examination fee, including the OHTA course levy.

BOHS Examination Fee:

  • British Occupational Hygiene Society (BOHS) is the awarding and examining body for OHTA modules.
  • The examination fee for OHTA modules in 2019 and 2020 is £100.00 per student. Full details of the BOHS examination fees are available on the BOHS website here.

OHTA Course Levy:

  • In addition to the BOHS examination fee, there is an OHTA course levy* of £40.00 per student.
  • This is collected by BOHS on behalf of OHTA at the same time that BOHS collects the examination fee.
  • Total cost per student £100.00 + £40.00 = £140.00

The Course Categories